Slam Dunk the IAABO Refrolic 2025 – Whistle Your Way to Success!

Question: 1 / 400

If Team A is still huddling when the second horn sounds and B-1 picks up the ball for a throw-in, is the official correct in calling a delay of game technical foul?

Yes, that is a delay of game

No, there should be a warning for delay

The correct answer is that there should be a warning for delay. According to the rules, if a team is not ready to play when the game is about to resume, the official will typically issue a warning for a delay of game rather than immediately calling a technical foul. In this scenario, Team A's huddle could be interpreted as a delay, but the standard procedure is to allow for a warning before escalating to a technical foul. This approach acknowledges that teams may take a few extra moments to regroup without penalizing them immediately, as long as they are making an effort to return to play.

The distinction is important because officials need to maintain the flow of the game while also ensuring that teams conform to the regulations. A warning serves as notice to Team A that they need to be ready for play, helping to avoid a more punitive action like a technical foul unless the delay persists.

Get further explanation with Examzify DeepDiveBeta

Yes, B-1 was not allowed to touch the ball

No, Team A can take longer than 5 seconds

Next Question

Report this question

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy